top of page

Dr. Frank Pittman, NCTM

Artistic & Executive Director

Dr. Pittman is the owner and founder of the Piano Academy of North Carolina, LLC.  In his 40 years of teaching experience, his students have participated in numerous national and international music festivals and performance competitions.  Many former students are currently career musicians and music educators.

He has served on the faculties of the Governor's School of North Carolina, the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Meredith College, Campbell University, the Actors Center in Philadelphia, the Durham School of the Arts, and has been a guest Lecturer of Music Theatre at Temple University.  As an active pianist, Dr. Pittman performs as a recitalist, concerto soloist, and chamber musician throughout the United States and Europe.  While touring Great Britain, he was honored to perform in a live broadcast on British Radio.

In 2019, Dr. Pittman started his own publishing company, PANC Publications, LLC™, a publishing branch of the Piano Academy of North Carolina, LLC.  PANC Publications™ is dedicated to creating interactive scores for the beginning, intermediate, and early advanced piano students that may be difficult to find in print. Each work is carefully researched, meticulously recorded, and diligently engraved.  His recent editions, 24 Melodious Etudes, Op. 50 by Cornelius Gurlitt and Petite suite, L. 71a by Claude Debussy have sold worldwide.


Dr. Pittman regularly adjudicates for local, regional, national, and international piano competitions.  He is a recurring examiner for the Hong Kong Schools Music Competition and has served on the boards of state and local organizations. For six years he served as the state director of the North Carolina Music Teachers Association Piano Performance Festival.  He is a permanently professional certified teacher of music in piano.

Untitled design-5.png
Frank Pittman.JPG


• Doctor of Musical Arts

     University of North Carolina at Greensboro

• Master of Music

     Temple University

• Bachelor of Music

     University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill


Permanent Professional Certified Teacher of Music in Piano


24 Melodious Etudes, Op. 50 by Cornelius Gurlitt

Petite suite, L. 71a by Claude Debussy














• Music Teachers National Association (MTNA)

• North Carolina Music Teachers Association (NCMTA)

    State Piano Performance Festival Chair: 2016 - 2022

    Immediate Past President: 2009 - 2011

    State President: 2007 - 2009

    President-elect: 2005 - 2007

    Vice-President (Membership): 2003 - 2005

    Conference Local Host Chair: 2002 - 2003

• Durham Music Teachers Association (DMTA)

    Piano Area Performance Festival Chair: 2015 - present

    Scholarship Chair: 2014 - 2018

• Pi Kappa Lambda (National Music Honor Society)

• Phi Mu Alpha

bottom of page